Historic Tredegar, home to The American Civil War Center, traces its roots to 1836, when Francis B. Deane founded Tredegar Iron Works. He named his Richmond plant for a Welsh town and iron works. In 1841 Deane hired Joseph Reid Anderson as commercial sales agent. Under Joseph Reid Anderson’s ownership, Tredegar manufactured an array of items including locomotives, train wheels, spikes, cables, ships, boilers, naval hardware, iron machinery and brass items. The plant employed skilled domestic and foreign workers as well as slaves and free blacks. One of the nation’s most significant Civil War Sites, Tredegar is now a National Historic Landmark and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and the Virginia Landmarks Register.
The newly renovated buildings include a 28,500 square-foot structure, located between the historic Pattern and Administration Buildings, is set into the hillside to incorporate ruins from the historic Tredegar Iron Works. The building plan offers expanded gallery spaces, an experience theater, and greatly improved storage and preservation areas for the Museum’s renowned collections of Civil War artifacts.